Sport / News

Full Barbarians squad announced to face Argentina

It’s not long until the fiercely proud rivals face off at Twickenham.

The Barbarians are taking on Argentina in London at Twickenham Stadium on 1 December 2018, and this match promises to be an entertaining encounter. While bringing the autumn internationals to a close, it pits both teams against each other in a battle for the coveted Killik Cup.

The full squad has now been announced, including World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year Aphiwe Dyanti, and Player of the Year nominee Malcolm Marx.

The remaining squad consists of backs Damian de Allende, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel and Handre Pollard, and forwards Schalk Brits, Lood de Jager, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Malcolm Marx, Trevor Nayakane and Skihumbuzo Notshe.

“I missed rugby so much I’ve changed my mind,” said Schalk Brits of his short-lived retirement, returning to Twickenham having earlier decided to call it quits. “I got a call from Rassie with reference to keep being involved until the next World Cup. After the June tests I still want to keep on playing and I’ve postponed work and my studies until after then.”

We recently caught up with a further trio of Barbarians (Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, Justin Tipuric and Finn Russell) to find out just what it means to be part of the team.


Expect a fantastic afternoon of rugby because this is only the third time the world-famous Baa-Baas have played the Pumas. At their first contest in 1990 the Barbarians won at Cardiff Arms Park by 34-22. But in their most recent clash at Twickenham in 2015, Argentina came away the victors, with a score of 49-31. As their rivalry continues brewing, everything is up for grabs in this third meeting!

The Barbarians are an invitational team, and they’ll have plenty of world-class players on show for the match including legends from South Africa, New Zealand and Australia. That means you’ll see end-to-end running rugby – with lots of tries and some big tackles too. During the Baas-Baas last game at Twickenham in May, they scored nine tries as they pounded away at England for a 63-45 victory.

Argentina, who were semi-finalists at the last Rugby World Cup, also are known for having a spectacular running game and many of their players are counted among the world’s best.

No matter which team you’re cheering for, the atmosphere at Twickenham is always buzzing for The Killik Cup. You’re guaranteed to have a good time with family or friends at the home of English rugby.

Here is the squad in full:

Tomasso Benvenuti (Benetton & Italy)
Damian de Allende (Stormers & South Africa)
Jack Debreczeni (Chiefs)
Aphiwe Dyanti (Lions & South Africa)
Tom English (Rebels & Australia)
Leon Fukofuka (Auckland & Tonga)
Elton Jantjies (Lions & South Africa)
Jesse Kriel (Bulls & South Africa)
Frank Lomani (Rebels & Fiji)
Handre Pollard (Bulls & South Africa)

Schalk Brits (Stormers & South Africa)
Wyatt Crockett (Crusaders & New Zealand)
Lood de Jager (Bulls & South Africa)
Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers & South Africa)
Luke Jones (Bordeaux Begles & Australia)
Steven Kitshoff (Stormers & South Africa)
Siya Kolisi (Stormers & South Africa)
Juan Miguel Leguizamon (Jaguares & Argentina)
Malcolm Marx (Lions & South Africa)
Alexandre Menini (Lyon & France)
Trevor Nayakane (Bulls & South Africa)
Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers & South Africa)
Jordan Taufua (Crusaders)

Final tickets for Barbarians v Argentina are on sale now at

Share post