Sport / Feature

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Public Ballot opens

Here's everything you need to know.

With less than one year until the ICC Cricket World Cup, organisers have now opened the Public Ballot.

Applicants can now enter requests for all 48 matches, with the ballot open until the 29 August 2018. Tickets in each price band at every game are available.

The ballot follows the hugely successful Cricket Family Ballot, with organisers encouraging fans to apply for a wide election of matches.

To apply, fans must register for an announced on the official Cricket World Cup website.

The tournament then kicks off on 30 May 2019.

The format for the 2019 competition – the same used in Australia and New Zealand in 1992 – sees the ten best teams in the world go head to head in a round-robin format, resulting in a true world champion.

Building on the overwhelming success of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 and 2017 as well as last year’s ICC Women’s World Cup, it is anticipated that every one of the 48 matches will attract diverse crowds creating a unique atmosphere where every team has home support.

Here’s what you need to know about the ballot, and the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

How does the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Public Ballot work?

The 2019 Public Ballot is now open, with ticket applications open to all members of the public.

In order to apply for tickets, applications must register an account here.

The ballot is open until the 29 August 2018, with fans able to apply for each of the 48 fixtures. There are various price bands for each game, all of which is detailed below.

Following the closure of the ballot, successful applicants will then purchase their tickets. Fans are encouraged to apply for a wide selection of matches as the 10-team round robin stage provides plenty of opportunities for fans to see their favourite team.

Following the Public Ballot, any remaining tickets will go on general sale on a first-come, first-served basis later in 2018.

How does the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 work?

Next year’s World Cup will be hosted in England and Wales, and features ten teams in a round robin group stage, followed by the semi-finals and final. The action will take place across eleven venues.

These are:
Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
Bristol County Ground, Bristol
County Ground Taunton, Taunton
Edgbaston, Birmingham
Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
Headingley, Leeds
Lord’s, London
Old Trafford, Manchester
The Oval, London
The Riverside Durham, Chester-le-Street
Trent Bridge, Nottingham

England will open the tournament at The Oval, taking on South Africa on the 30 May 2019.

Reigning champions Australia kick off their bid for the title on the 1 June against Afghanistan in Bristol.

The semi-finals will take place at Old Trafford in Manchester on 9 July, and at Edgbaston in Birmingham on the 11 July.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 final will take place at Lord’s on Sunday 14 July 2019.

Each of these three matches will have reserve days.

What is the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 schedule?

The 48 matches will run from Thursday 30 May to Sunday 14 July 2019. Note that, as ever, all dates are subject to change.

The full schedule, as well as pricing for each match, is available below:

Applynow for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Public Ballot here.

Share post